World Cup History

 A worldwide International football tournament was the brainchild of two French football administrators, Jules Rimet - after whom the original trophy was named - and Henri Delauney

Creation of the Cup

On 26 May, 1928, the Congress of the Fédération de Football Association, held in Amsterdam, decided by 23 votes for and 5 against, to organize a competition "open to teams representing all affiliated natinal associations". The final approval of this project was voted at the Barcelona Congress the following year. It needed all perseverance of two French-men, Jules Rimet, elected President of FIFA in 1921, and Henri Delaunay, Secretary-General of the French Football Federation, to turn what was for a long time a untopian idea into reality.

When the whistle blew for the first World Cup in Montevideo in July 1930, it was difficult to imagine that the competition would become the greatest sporting festival.
In fact, no other international meeting or event has enjoy such a resounding success, and this grandiose tournament has permanently assumed a superlative dimension (1.5 billion viewers in front of the small screen just for the 1994 final between Brazil and Italy).

The Trophy

The French sculptor Abel Lafleur was commissioned by FIFA to create the first trophy for the World Cup.
This was a gold statuette weighing about 1.5 kilograms, representing an allegorical winged victory on an octogonal base.
This famous "Jules Rimet Cup" was first stolen in London in 1966, then recovered.
It finally went to Brazil, the first country to have won three World Cups, before being stolen again, and this time it was never found.
the present trophy is the work of the Italian sculptor Silvio Gazzaniga
The 2002 renewal, held in Asia for the first time by co-hosts Japan and Korea has attracted 196 entries, a far cry from the 13 nations that contested the first World Cup in Uruguay 1930, where the hosts prevailed in a thrilling final against neighbours Argentina.

The next two tournaments were held in Europe, with Italy winning as hosts in 1934, then retaining the trophy on foreign soil in 1938 by beating Hungary in Rimet's home city of Paris, France. The Second World War and its aftermath meant that the next tournament was not held until 1950, where hosts Brazil suffered a shock defeat by Uruguay.

The following two tournaments were held in Europe. West Germany emerged in 1954 to inflict the only defeat Hungary suffered in six years, while Brazil finally fulfilled their promise in 1958 with a 5-2 defeat of hosts Sweden.

Brazil retained the trophy in Chile in 1962, and their third victory in Mexico in 1970 saw them win the Jules Rimet trophy for keeps. In between, England had beaten arch-rivals West Germany at Wembley in 1966. Holland emerged as a European rival to the sublime skills of the Brazilians in the 1970s, but were defeated in successive finals by hosts West Germany in 1974 and Argentina in 1978.

Spain failed to make it a "hosts hat-trick" in 1982, with Italy beating West Germany. The Germans again fell at the final hurdle to Argentina in Mexico in 1986, but it was third time lucky when they beat Argentina in Italy in 1990.

The USA, World Cup minnows since making the semi-finals back in 1930, put on the biggest of shows in 1994, where the final between Brazil and Italy went all the way to penalties and victory for the South Americans. Despite the great Ronaldo, Brazil could not retain their title against the hosts France in 1998.


The Legends of the Cup
Unique in the history of football and the most famous of all champions in any other sport, the brazilian Edson Arantes do Nascimento, affectionately known all over the world as Pelé, is the only player to have won three World Cups, in 1958, 1962 and 1970, with the brazilians team.

Brazil has taken part in all the final phases since 1930, in others words, fifteen times. The brazilians have won 49 out of 73 matches.

this is the record of goals scored during a final phase, held by the French player
Just Fontaine. It happened in Sweden in 1958.

"The Great Goalers in History"

The list of the great goalers is not unique, but some players have marked the history with their sens of goaling.
The masters are many, and we'll start with the King Pelé, the man with 1285 official goals of which 77 in 92 selection games. A magnificent player, capable of passing three or four players in order to confuse the goalkeeper. However, Pelé is not the player who's been scoring most goals in history.
Ferenc Puskas the fabulous left-forward in the Hungarian team, allowed himself to score more than 1300 of which 83 was in the 84 selection games (world record). This fantastic player scored, by himself, four goals in the Coupe d'Europe in 1960 in the Reals victory against the Eintracht de Francfort (7-3).
In an other record , it's the German Gerd Műller who is seen as the best offensive player. "The fox of the golie area" did not have any extodaordinary qualities but he was always at the right place at the right time. He is considered to have the right to the title "the greatest european goaler of all times" with a record of goals scored in a WorldCup (14 in two final phases).
Others, like Uwe Seeler (Germany) made more than one defense tremble in the 60's. Not to mention Alfredo Di Stefano, five times winner of the C1 and author of 30 goals in 40 selection games (for three countries, Argentina, Colombia and Spain). A big name which remindes us of the hard won game against the Real at the Reims Stadium.
In the 60's, there was as well a certain Eusebio who made the headlines after becoming the best goaler in the Wold Cup 66 in England (9 goals). The Portugease managed to make 313 goals in 219 Championship games with Portugal.
Closer to our hearts, is players like Johan Cruyff who proved his talent by making 321 goals in his carrier(in 548 games).
One of his disciples whofollowed the same path, Marco Van Basten, ended his carrier too early after a serious accident.



Latest News:

                                                                                             This site is best viewed in 800 X 600 pixels

                                                                                                            Created & designed by sjm.

                       © Copyright 2001-2002 -

 This site is NOT endorsed, affiliated to, or claims recognition to represent the FIFA. This is an UNOFFICIAL site.